WORLDS APART by Drew Tal

Three Pearls by Drew Tal

Three Pearls from the series WORLDS APART by Drew Tal

Drew Tal

Drew Tal grows up in Israel, a country that offers a rich cultural cosmopolitanism that he appreciates and penetrates . Very young he wants to discover other different worlds and starts to travel in all continents. Then those different experiences feed his inspiration and his desire to express himself through the medium of photography.
Settled in New York in the 80’s, working as a fashion photographer gives him the opportunity to enjoy the melting pot of New York City but also through the models from all over the world who pose for him . Beside his job in the fashion field, Drew Tal works on his photography art and aims to reveal the beauty of interbreeding by mixing etnies and religions like, for example, in setting a stage of a biblical religious scenes with models of Hindu origin.

Different projects have already made ​​Drew Tal’s renown including “On edge”, “Sinless”, “Travel”, “Facing” East, and now the latest “Worlds Apart” which has been especially designed for the artist’s participation at the Istanbul Biennal 2013.

Interview with Drew Tal

Q:  You represent characters of all ages and sexes (children, adolescents, women and men) and even different countries and different continents. But they are part of the same world.  Can you describe the world in which you made reference in Worlds apart?  Why “apart” ?
Drew:  True, while we are all part of this singular world, somehow the oneness and wholeness of this world is so very fragile and so easily fragmented by potentially divisive factors such as religious beliefs, political views, social status, race, nationalism, tribalism, bigotry, sexism, and the list goes on… 
While we are “apart” on the surface, I hope to demonstrate that ultimately, we are all of one “world” and face similar life challenges.  In this collection, I celebrate the differences and diversity in the world and make an effort to give voice to all “fragments” of humanity. 
 
Q:  Why a portrait of a woman in front of a representation of the Christ on the Cross broken before her? What does this mean?
Drew:  I love to quote Degas, talking to a fellow artist: “Art is not what you see but what you make others see”. Therefore, It means what you’d like for it to mean.  It is up to the viewer’s imagination and interpretation. Someone told me that he believes that the woman in the piece became disillusioned with Christianity and now she is Muslim and the broken cross symbolizes, physically and/or metaphorically, her break from Christianity.  Another concluded that she, as a Muslim woman, purposely broke the crucifix because it threatened her beliefs. I don’t take sides; I am delighted that it inspires discussion. 
 
Q:  In this project we feel that you get a message through powerful symbols, can you explain to us what you seek to communicate as general ?
Drew:  My art is a reflection of the way I view life.  At times, it reflects beauty, harmony and inner peace; at other times, it is a study of religion or spirituality. Lately, I find that social injustice and human suffering is very much on my mind and I have dedicated several of my works to these painful topics.  
I’d like to emphasize that I create art first and foremost for myself, neither to please nor to provoke others.  I listen solely to my own inner artistic voice and ultimately aim to fulfill my own artistic need for expression.  Of course, I do hear others’ opinions and criticism but it does not affect why or how I will create my next piece.  Should my message resonate with a viewer of my art, so much the better. 
 
Q:  The language of the hands is very important in your photographic series, but what does it express here?
Drew:  Hands have the potential to communicate and express just like any language.  Since still pictures on a wall cannot speak, I, as an artist, grant hands and eyes a silent voice to communicate with the viewer.  They may narrate a story of sorrow and regret or they may reveal devotion, hope and love. 
 
Q:  Why you are you running specifically to the Muslim religion this time?
Drew:  I go through periods, frequently subsequent to traveling to different parts of the world.  For example, In the late 90’s, after several extensive trips to the Far East, I found myself entirely absorbed in Chinese, Japanese and Tibetan cultures which led me to create ‘Facing East’, a body of works devoted to the people of those lands;  3 long trips to India inspired the creation of several works celebrating the colorful and exotic traditions of the subcontinent.
This time, my inspiration came from travels in Morocco and Jordan as well as Indonesia, Malaysia, and Brunei (all Muslim countries).  The focus of the works is my point of view vis-a-vis Islam, primarily women in traditional Islamic society.  Observing the local people in their unique garb going about their daily routines or during prayer or at times during silent protest, prompted the inspiration for most of the images of ‘Worlds Apart’. 
 
Q:  All stylistic elements such as the warm colors and ocher tonalities, the darkness in which the reflected lights from the eyes of characters, hands hiding the eyes, almost sad facial expressions … this combines to give a silent but very heavy atmosphere. Do you intend to show the austere side of this culture and or religious philosophy?
Drew:  Truthfully, there is no intention, aim or agenda in those images. I saw these women on my travels throughout the Middle-East and my art reflects myobservation of their lives, not an opinion or criticism. I observe them at their celebrations and struggles, their sorrows and hopes, their acceptance and at times even at their courageous heroism.  I find the subjects to be inspiring.
 
Q:  Considering all of your projects, what “Worlds apart” brings you more in the evolution of your work?
Drew:  “World Apart” is the latest chapter in my continuous photographic travels through our fascinating planet, observing and absorbing the myriad ways of people’s lives, cultures, customs, celebrations and conflicts.  Through my work, I will continue to reveal both the spirituality and the beauty that make us unique from one another as well as to explore and communicate what universally connects us all to one another.  It is a never-ending journey that keeps me inspired, stirs my imagination and ignites my creativity, time and time again…

Emmanuel Fremin Gallery will present Worlds Apart by Drew Tal in a solo show on October 10- December 14, 2013.

More Information

Emmanuel Fremin Gallery 

Website : http://emmanuelfremingallery.com/

Contact Mary Nguyen : mary@emmanuelfremingallery.com

Venue : 547 W.27 STREET #510, NEW YORK, NY 10001 TEL 212 .279.8555
Hours: Tuesday to Saturday, 11AM-6PM.